Merged - Big 12 Aftermath Thread

I get that. I'm not an expert on contract law, but I am sure there are loopholes lawyers can find somewhere that if Carolina, Clemson, Notre Dame, etc. want out they can get out. It may be pricey, but they can get out.
I think it is so pricey to make it near impossible.

Is that a sexy sell to Ohio St.? Virginia and Kansas? Remember this is all about football. All of this would be a lot easier if Penn. St. and Michigan were a legit threat to OSU. Then you could absorb Kansas, ISU or whoever.

Why does the Big Ten have to sell anything to Ohio State? If it was all about football then why in the hell did they add Maryland and Rutgers? I get football is the big money maker for the Big Ten but mens basketball produces revenue for the conference as well. Maryland and Rutgers got added for nothing more than geographic footprint New York, DC, and Baltimore markets.

Kansas wouldn't give the conference a sexy footprint. Adding Wichita and Kansas City markets is nothing compared to NY, Baltimore, and DC but they would help strengthen the basketball revenues and they would add to the academic side to the conference, there is a ton of money in research.

I just threw out Virginia, my thought is they would have to add someone from the east coast to keep the league balanced. I remember there has been talk of going after North Carolina.

Iowa State is strong this year, but where will they be the year after Campbell is lured away? Just another win for Iowa every year? The West doesn't need another cella

r dweller.

B10 would geologically b the most natural fit however I don’t think it would b good for the Hawks. There are only 3 states in the B10 that have 2 B10 schools in them. Michigan, Indiana, & Illinois. Indiana’s population is 6.7 million. Michigan is 9.9 million. Illinois is 12.6 million. Iowa’s population..............a mire 3.1 million. I don’t think having both schools in the same conference would b a good thing.