My thoughts on Coach Lickliter

loesshillshawk

FYI..I posted this several weeks ago on mom's site...LOL

First off before everyone rips me and tells me I am the anti-fan. I congratulate the guys for a good win today. Fuller is really turning the corner, I wish Matt could wake up and join him. That soph year is tough...
Most on here think I don't support the basketball program. I have more basketball memorabilia in my hawkeye room then football. My earliest recollection of Iowa Athletics are basketball memories. As most of you know I have been a HS coach for 25 years...had a 65% winning percentage, all be it in girls. However, basketball is basketball and I did take 4 different schools to state tournaments. So I somewhat understand the game, I also have 3 close friend who are in D1 basketball.

Now from day 1 I have been very hesitant about Coach Lickliter and his preparedness for Big Ten Basketball. I personally like Coach and his values, I think he is a good guy. However, he won't win any charisma contest. I would like to give you my breakdown of why I would not of looked at Lick as a guy who could have success at a school like Iowa. By that I mean a school with borderline facilities, a somewhat tarnished rep from the last coaching hire and the coaching release before that.