How big a town are you from?

NCHawker

Just curious, what was the population of your home town. How many were in your graduating class? Have you moved to a larger town and how well do you like it?

Home town 100k

High School class 750,

Moved to Dallas, TX and it was great for awhile, but after kids came along ready for smaller and went to Columbus, OH, Peoria, then Gboro. I like this size of town I'm in now.

2,100 population now, it was around 3000 when I was in high school in the mid-80's.
When I graduated we had a big class of 74 kids. Now the graduating classes are in the 40-count range.
Back then it was everything I needed, great place to grow up, worked hard (walked beans/detasslled ,baling-stacking hay) and play sports - pretty much sheltered in a good away from what's out there in the real world.
Now I'm still proud of my hometown, but I'm only back every Christmas and I see it slowly dying, with zero career opportunity, constant small-town gossip and I'm glad I got the hell out of there when I was 18, never moved back.
Guessing my story is very similar to others.
Now I live in a beautiful suburb of a city of just over 1M.
Grateful I got the small-town values, grateful I made it out.

Last edited:
From the Fairbank-Oelwein metroplex, population 1200 and 6500 respectively. Graduating class @ Wapsie Valley was 93 during the baby-boomer era. Live in an area over 200k now. The farm life was good growing up for certain things but glad I live in a larger town now. More services and things to do, along with a better job market.

i grew up in SE Iowa on a farm outside a small town of 1000. I went to small catholic school that graduated 45.