Vaccine rollout

My wife an I have both our shots and are 85% immune as of yesterday. I'm 76 with underlying conditions and my wife its on Social Security and also has underlying conditions.

Glad you mentioned this and good for you. What I can't figure out is how this is being distributed. I work in the community service field and was advised in mid December that we'd be in the "second group to get their vaccines" and would most likely get our first dose around the end of January. I then heard last night (not sure if true or not) that local HyVee pharmacies were going to start (or had already started) distributing to the general public already. Which made me question why I'm waiting to get it through my employer when I could probably get it sooner from a different source.

FYI, I am 69 and live in Iowa and I could not get my first moderna dose until Jan.23rd in the state and I got it that day at Hyvee

Overall the vaccine rollout is going pretty good. It could be better but it also could be just hung up and not going very well with no leadership. I would like to see more use of the military medical and supply units going with mobile and rural units to find people who have a hard time scheduling and getting to a place to get their shots.

In mid to late January the supply from moderna and pfizer slowed down then that really bad week of weather shut down shipments. It is picking up very well again.

Tonight on the news they said 500,000 Iowans are fully vaccinated. That sounded high but with the one dose vaccine it can be done.

Scientists have been working on this mRNA vaccine method for 20 years and already had great results in animals like chimps, etc. We all have mRNA molecules in most of our bodily cells making proteins etc but this time it is making a small piece of virus protein to kick in our immune system. I sure hope most people get the vaccine so we can shut this virus down rather than have to keep track of who has or hasnt had a vaccine.