Why I Do Not Care About the National Championship

ChosenChildren

The National Championship Game has no meaning to me. It is an unfair popularity contest based on meaningless, biased polls and other subjective criteria. A team like Boise State, which plays one of the easiest schedules in the country, has a much better chance to play in the game when compared to teams like Iowa, Penn State or Ohio State, which play murderous schedules by comparison.

Iowa's goals should be the same every year:

1. Rose Bowl. If not, then
2. BCS game. If not, then
3. New Year's Day game. If not, then
4. A bowl game.

Achieving any of the above 4 goals means it was a successful season for Iowa, in my humble opinion. Using that criteria, Iowa has been successful in 8 of the past 9 seasons, with a good chance to go bowling this year.

There will be no legitimate national champion until a real playoff is instituted. I am not a sincere proponent of a playoff, but the current system is so ridiculously subjective that it does not really produce a true national champion (only 2 teams qualify for the final game!).

I couldn't agree more. Winning a Nat'l Title would be like wearing Sex Panther, it stings the nostrils with how popular the game is to me.

I care. an undefeated Iowa, Penn State, or Ohio State would make it to the National title game over Boise. I hear what you are saying, but we are only 1 game into the season.

I would love to play for the National Title, just because the exposure it could set up for Iowa. The recruiting would be something we've never seen before. To be called kings of football for a year would be unreal. But in general, the goal every year I always think about is get to the Rose Bowl! Something Ive never really seen before in my life. And it's something that means a lot to any person who lives in Big Ten country. But I couldn't agree more how it's turned into a popularity contest to get to the national championship game.

Can't agree more.