HBO Paterno

DeereHawk75

Watched this last night on HBO. Al Pacino did a good job of portraying him. Can't believe Penn St. did not get much heavier sanctions. There was way more to it than I realized.

Watched this last night on HBO. Al Pacino did a good job of portraying him. Can't believe Penn St. did not get much heavier sanctions. There was way more to it than I realized.

And this was a docudrama so how much of it was fictionalized dialogue? Even some of the best movies have some info in them that seem to be true but then later are found to be fictionalized. I am not saying that Joe Pa or many of those people didnt know and abet the situation, they most assuredly did as some were convicted of crimes and fired.

I do not get HBO so what was some of the new info you were given in this movie?

Memory is such a fleeting thing, even memories of victims. I wouldn't put a lot of stock on HBO. As a published author I had one of the most documented books ever for a personal story. However, after the fact, I still find information that wasn't exactly correct. For example, most of the soldiers I interviewed swore they went ashore on D Day, but records show they went in on D+1. One very emotional story told by one was not remembered by 10 who would have been there. You can have adults from the same family who all went through abuse and have some remember minute details, some who deny what happened and some who have no memories prior to puberty at all.

We do know the sanctions should have been worse regardless of the movie. Things aren't necessarily fictionalized. It's just the human element.

And this was a docudrama so how much of it was fictionalized dialogue? Even some of the best movies have some info in them that seem to be true but then later are found to be fictionalized. I am not saying that Joe Pa or many of those people didnt know and abet the situation, they most assuredly did as some were convicted of crimes and fired.