Ferentz's Contract: What's in it to protect Iowa's interests?

JonDMiller

Publisher/Founder
A friend of mine asked me this: "Is it possible that Ferentz's buyout was Gary Barta's idea to make it impossible for another school or NFL team to lure Ferentz away?"

So I was curious to see what sort of protections the contract has for Iowa...we all know how sweet a deal it is for Kirk Ferentz, but what protections does Iowa have?

I need you guys to take a look at it, as I am not a lawyer. But I don't see much in it that protects Iowa's interests if Kirk would want to leave for another job. I see the following two sections dealing with leaving:

"Termination by University for Cause"

and

"Termination by University without Cause; Liquidated Damages"

Take a look at this and help me out. I have to be either missing something or just unaware how contracts like this work, but as I am reading it, I see it only protecting Kirk and there being no protection for Iowa.

Now, I don't think Kirk would ever leave Iowa for another college job..and the sweetness of this deal being a big factor. But do you do a contract like this without any protection for your own University?

I have to be missing something here.

Here is the contract

Last edited:
I wondered the same thing. I'm no attorney either, 2 semesters of business law tells me athat a contract can't be slanted in favor of 1 party or it could be invalid / unenforcable / voidable.

I don't think that there is anyone at the U who is thinking about letting KF GO right now.

Seems to me that it would be a negotiated settlemnt if push came to shove.

They probably should have scaled his w/o cause buyout provision based upon number of wins over a certain period of time.

For example, the buyout percentage could be 25% in the event of 10 wins or less in the previous two seasons, 50% for 11-15 wins in previous two seasons, and 75% for over 15 wins in the previous two seasons.