Economic Impact of COVID19

HawkGold

Are any of you being impacted?

I work in the ag finance sector. Grain and livestock markets have fallen more than they were from the trade war. That has a direct impact on ag finance revenue.

About 30 percent of farmers were already on the bubble with some bankruptcies already. 30 percent are in good shape. The rest are something in between. We were in trouble anyway, but this pushes things over the edge. Technology is the underlying reason and now the foot hits the pavement.

Remember when we could put money in the bank and earn 5 percent or better? No money in the bank may actual lose dollars beyond inflation loss. The FED has kept the economy going by putting it on artificial life support prior to this, but the patient just took a turn for the worse.

My daughter working in day care has been asked to not come in.

Others?

Pls no political arguments.

Are those schools preparing for some type of distance learning?

Ours is. In IL the state law doesn't say they gave to attend online, but the school is requiring it. It makes sense but the local school often shoves back on state and fed requirements.

I am 74, so very concerned about this virus. The good news for me is that I am retired and in charge of my own activities. So, I can be careful, but there are no guarantees. The other good news for me is that I have a steady, consistent income. I cannot imagine how tough it will be for working people to get through this mess.
I am frustrated with the slow reactions by our federal government, even to the point where many were in denial about the severity of this virus. The pressure on our health care system at this point is beyond belief. We must work hard to build a vaccine funded by the feds with in kind from our states. And, pharma should not be allowed to make one thin dime of profit. Our taxes will have already paid the bill. Better be free to everyone.