Last Play should not have happend!!!

Saginawbay

Well-Known Member
Iowa did not play with the same emotion it had last week, but that is normal with a team. Really the only good news is we found a way to win!!!


My complaint is with the officiating crew who did not call intentional grounding on IU at end of the game. Ball has to cross the line of scrimmage and did not come close ball hit at the 18 and line of scrimmage was the 23. So that final play should not have happened with the lose of down. The official started to reach for flag then changed his mind nearly cost Iowa a chance at a Big Ten title because of the call, and he was looking right at it!!!
 


Iowa did not play with the same emotion it had last week, but that is normal with a team. Really the only good news is we found a way to win!!!


My complaint is with the officiating crew who did not call intentional grounding on IU at end of the game. Ball has to cross the line of scrimmage and did not come close ball hit at the 18 and line of scrimmage was the 23. So that final play should not have happened with the lose of down. The official started to reach for flag then changed his mind nearly cost Iowa a chance at a Big Ten title because of the call, and he was looking right at it!!!

I believe it only has to cross the line of scrimmage if you are outside the tackle box and there is no player in the area. There was an IU receiver in the area so it didn't matter if it crossed the LOS or not. You see QBs intentionally ground screen plays all the time at the feet of the intended target that are behing the LOS.

The last play shouldn't have happened because we shouldn't have let the receiver get WIDE OPEN.
 




Iowa did not play with the same emotion it had last week, but that is normal with a team. Really the only good news is we found a way to win!!!


My complaint is with the officiating crew who did not call intentional grounding on IU at end of the game. Ball has to cross the line of scrimmage and did not come close ball hit at the 18 and line of scrimmage was the 23. So that final play should not have happened with the lose of down. The official started to reach for flag then changed his mind nearly cost Iowa a chance at a Big Ten title because of the call, and he was looking right at it!!!

As the referee explained, there was an eligible receiver within a few yards of the throw, so by rule it is not intentional grounding. Lucky break as it was more coincidence than anything that the guy ended up near the throw. But anyway, maybe you should be a little more observant before spouting off.
 


As the referee explained, there was an eligible receiver within a few yards of the throw, so by rule it is not intentional grounding. Lucky break as it was more coincidence than anything that the guy ended up near the throw. But anyway, maybe you should be a little more observant before spouting off.


I know what the official said maybe you should be more observant still a bad call ball hit at 18 and closet person was an Iowa player then an IU player ran in. Either way a poor call.
 


I know what the official said maybe you should be more observant still a bad call ball hit at 18 and closet person was an Iowa player then an IU player ran in. Either way a poor call.

Maybe you need to read a rule book and look at your explanation... if the ball hit at the 18 and the LOS was the 23, that would be 5 yards downfield.

Second, the other posters are correct that if there is a receiver even close, they can't call grounding. The officials have to abide by the rules and not make calls because some random Iowa fan wants the rule to be a certain way.
 


I know what the official said maybe you should be more observant still a bad call ball hit at 18 and closet person was an Iowa player then an IU player ran in. Either way a poor call.

Again, you didn't pay any attention. The ball was thrown in the vacinity of an Indiana player. Therefore no intentional grounding. Bad break for the Hawks but it happens all the time. By your logic an incomplete screen pass would be intentional grounding.
 


At this point, it's what the definition of 'vicinity' is, because I'm not sure that receiver was within 8 yards of the ball, much less 5.
 


agreed, the intent was to down it, just happened there was an INDY guy somewhat close by, at first I thought it was grounding, but then I saw the reply
 




Top