Does Rudock's Intelligence/Personality Inhibit his play?

DP5555

This is just something I was thinking over while watching him play for Michigan last night. It's not really an angle I ever looked at while he was the QB at Iowa, but in hindsight I believe there might be something to it. I apologize in advance if this gets kinda long. I'm just rambling my thoughts.

I work in healthcare and as an Outreach Clinic Manager my job is to help run University of Iowa physician clinics (all different kinds of providers). Most Doctors have a very business like mentality. They want to know what to expect. They want to know the percentages of risk/reward. They want to dissect everything possible in order to help make the best decisions they possibly can for their patients. It's their job to overthink things. I think Jake Rudock's mentality is perfect for someone who is going to become a physician.

However, I realized last night that this mentality may play a big role in why he has struggled with consistency on the field. He is so tightly wound that he's unable to relax. It seems like he overthinks things and then makes sudden decisions out of impulse. Everything seems very sudden. Oh I'm going to dump it off! Oh **** he's open down the field I better heave it! It seems to me like he's complicating the game of football instead of letting it come to him. Nothing about his play is smooth.