Do it right, graduate, barf...

CJHawkeye

There is a giant chasm between Iowa basketball and football and programs like Louisville basketball and Penn State football. In that chasm are plenty of schools that are 1) more competitive in sports, 2) equally or more academically challenging, 3) aren't systemically running academic cheating or gang rape programs. That is, dozens of schools that do the right thing and graduate and STILL win more than Iowa.

This Win, Do it Right, Graduate thing is insulting. It's insulting to Iowa fans but equally, it is insulting to programs more successful than Iowa, implying they must either not be doing as well academically or morally.

Iowa is not that tough academically. I graduated from the college of business so I know what the academic standards are generally like and Iowa doesn't rank at the top of the Big Ten overall according to large studies that publish program rankings.

I'm so tired of this lame attempt to placate the "Iowa nice" fan base. We're no better than anyone else and yet the AD tries to play to a false sense of moral superiority to explain our mediocrity in sports.

Sorry, but I am all in with this philosophy. And, I am personally very demanding when it comes to Iowa winning. You can do both, as you pointed out. Attacking Iowa's commitment to high graduation rates and "doing it right" seems rather silly to me.

Since it is an institution of higher learning, funded by taxpayers, doesn't it go without saying that education/graduation is important?

This reminder of "Education" being #1 is a Red Herring, an attempt to switch focus, or a lie...most likely, all of them...trying to cover up a $$$ contract tweak in the midst of the most embarrassing BB season in Iowa history.

It is surreal and sad... Lots of Iowa will take the bait of course...