Big 10 officiating

tweeterhawk

The officiating in last night's Indiana game was the worst I have seen in a D1 game in a long, long time. I say that as an Iowa fan whose team won going away.

I have long criticized Ted Valentine and Ed Hightower, who I believe to be two of the weakest officials in NCAA Division 1 basketball. But this crew tonight absolutely was not up to the task.

Before I proceed let me explain that I am a professional referee in another sport other than basketball or football. And professionally I should not call into question the work of another official, either in my sport or another one. But the performance I witnessed last night was an embarrassment to my profession, and I feel compelled to speak out.

As a sports official working with others as part of our own team, I have developed a sort of WTF meter. The first two letters stand for What The, and I will let you guess the third. I use that when I work with other referees in my team on specific games. If my WTF meter rises to a cerain level of discomfort, I will request to no longer work with one or two of those specific partners.

My WTF meter was extraordinarily high this game. Some calls went against Iowa; some went against Indiana. There were a number of calls that simply were not made. I was left wondering on Andrew Brommer's drive to the basket whether the Big 10 had obtained an NCAA exception that allowed a defender to grab an attacker's hand and/or arm to strip the ball, because that was clearly what occurred in plain sight of the referee. Yet nothing was called. That was probably the least of the instances in which I felt the officials swallowed their whistles.