You're right. Guys make that shot all the time![]()
It's damn near impossible to box out a guy flying in like that without fouling, which is why it's a rule.
Wouldn't the foul most likely be on the guy flying in from the 3 point line?
If the guy down low boxes out and gets position for the rebound, I don't see how the guy from the 3 point line gets the ball....unless the shot is a brick and takes a big bounce off the rim.
Here is the video from tonight if anyone missed it:
Notre Dame lane violation vs. Xavier. Blown call? Controversial? - YouTube
The guy didn't even come close to getting the rebound(if it was a miss).
Seems like a dumb rule to me.
It's funny because nobody has ever heard of this rule until yesterday.
I'm sure it has happened plenty of times during the regular season. Funny how it has never been called before.
The right call was made in the Creighton game and the wrong call was made in the Notre Dame game. Let players decide the ending, that is all.
But then yesterday, a player who broke this rule DID get the rebound.
Your logic here opens a whole other can of worms. We ***** about officials' judgement all the time. Now you want to give them even more opportunities to judge incorrectly? Where do they draw the line on this? Especially since the whistle gets blown as soon as the violation is made?
Albama was fouled plan and simple. Absolutely no debate imo.The right call was made in the Creighton game. It can't be the wrong call in the Notre Dame game if it was the correct call, right?The right call was made in the Creighton game and the wrong call was made in the Notre Dame game. Let players decide the ending, that is all.
the announcers said the rule was whenthe ball is released. I was corrected and it was probably the correct call, but it would not have impacted the game, because he made it.i undersand why you wod get mad if foul is called wen no foul is done. why you getting mad wen rule is broke and they call foul tho. if rule is broke. you call foul. no.
The right call was made in the Creighton game. It can't be the wrong call in the Notre Dame game if it was the correct call, right?
the announcers said the rule was whenthe ball is released. I was corrected and it was probably the correct call, but it would not have impacted the game, because he made it.
Like I said let the players decide the ending of the game. Creighton Official swallowed the whistle and the ND game ended because officials decided to blow his with 2.8 seconds on a made free throw to cut the game to 1 with another FT attempt coming. LMAO. Good quality Officiating isn't blowing whistle and injecting themselves into the game at that point.
Good, quality officiating is enforcing the rules when they are BLATANTLY violated, regardless of how much time is left. This wasn't a Hightower or Valentine call, for Christ's sake.
Well I disagree TM. Just my opinion. I respect your stance.
I just don't understand the idea that blowing the whistle on a clear violation is injection yourself into the action, when NOT calling it has an equal impact (only it negatively impacts the other team). It's one thing to let ticky-tack "fouls" go (I despise those calls no matter when they occur). But blatantly obvious fouls/violations have to be called regardless of the situation.