X and O question

NCHawker

This is for the coaches out there....

Tell me what the implications to Iowa are with Wisconsin playing a 3-4 defense. I'll hang up and listen.

NCH

I wouldn't recommend that, they let you use 11 players on defense so if you are playing a 3-4 you are only using 7 guys. Seems silly to me but I'm no expert.

Considering we have less than average LB's to start with adding one more probably isn't the prudent choice. We would be better served going 5-2 since our DL at least are average. It's not a great scenario either way but when we are what we are, what are you gonna do. We need to recruit better players to play a base D and expect them to stop above average teams.

Considering we have less than average LB's to start with adding one more probably isn't the prudent choice. We would be better served going 5-2 since our DL at least are average. It's not a great scenario either way but when we are what we are, what are you gonna do. We need to recruit better players to play a base D and expect them to stop above average teams.
I would agree with this. The problem with a 5-2 is once Gordon gets a seam, he is at the second level in a hurry. We need to put 9 in the box, put the corners on an island and take our chances against the deep ball. It will take our best defensive effort of the year to hold him to 150 or below.

Tell me what the implications to Iowa are with Wisconsin playing a 3-4 defense. I'll hang up and listen.

NCH

The 3-4 would allow different run blitzes from to different gaps. If Gordon hits the hole and makes it to the seconday he will be running like Bo Jackson to the tunnel. You have to get him early and often or else it is going to be a long day.

read it again... I'm asking about Wisconsin's Defense.

I wouldn't recommend that, they let you use 11 players on defense so if you are playing a 3-4 you are only using 7 guys. Seems silly to me but I'm no expert.

well played...a page out of my humor book there.

Last edited: