Podcast and the '06 Alamo Bowl

PJHawk

Well-Known Member
Jon in your latest podcast you said that Chandler lined up too far off the line of scrimmage on the non-touchdown in the second quarter. In reality it was just the opposite. The referees ruled that he was lined up on the line of scrimmage and "covered up" by the WR thus becoming an ineligible receiver and calling back the TD.
 


I agree. Furthermore, I think that the TE can line up either back or up as long as there are enough men on the line of scrimmage. The important part of that on that side of the line is where the outside receiver lines up. I.E. it wouldn't have been Chandler's fault, would have been the receiver's. Even if Chandler is back he would still be eligible as long as the receiver is back also, if my understanding is correct. (On the other side you'd likely have everybody else up on the line).
 


Even if Chandler is back he would still be eligible as long as the receiver is back also, if my understanding is correct. .

I the TE is back the WR does not have to be back and in most cases would be on the line of scrimmage. The key point being that per the rules the last man on the end of the line of scrimmage is the only eligible receiver.
 




Top