Official Iowa Hawkeye Baseball Thread

Well, Dahm officially let go as Iowa Coach. Have no clue who they get now or who will want it. We need someone with a lot of energy. However, as a coach I can relate how frustrating it is if you don't feel like the school is fully behind you with giving you the tools necessary to compete. Barta needs to step up to the plate (pun intended) and invest in the program. To not have their own batting cages they can access at any time is ridiculous. Many high schools in the state have better access to indoor cages than they do.

I thought he was doing fairly well for the tools that he had to work with. If he was let go for any other reason than performance, then I could understand, but once again, it looks like Barta has made a pretty stupid decision (surprise, surprise).

I have not paid attention to Iowa baseball since Duane Banks left and then i did not pay close attention. Has the program hit rock bottom since then?

A couple of names thrown around at a youth tournament that I attended (Rick Heller,Assist Coach at Illinois that was GA at Iowa under Banks), but nothing that I have heard out of the U.

Saw something on twitter the other night of someone pulling their name out of the hat, I think it was SLU coach. With how long this is going on, I'm guessing there just aren't that many candidates that really want this job. No coach wants to be put in a situation where they don't have facilities and Admin backing for only $95k a year like Dahm was making. That is far from set for life money if you are out of a job like Dahm is now and having to support a family. Unfortunately, this job is just not that desirable right now it appears and not sure if we'll get the right guy. What is Barta's email? I have a name I want to throw at him.