It could be worse...

shades1622

Don't get me wrong, Ferentz and his staff had an off day on Saturday but at least Mack Brown is not our coach. The following link is a pretty interesting read on the Longhorns problems and how 'Coach Brown' is handling them.

Texas' Mack Brown calls out assistant coaches, players - NCAA Football - SI.com

I would see Ferentz more as trying to be part of the solution to our issues, (SPECIAL TEAMS!!!) not placing blame and telling our coaches to just fix it or get out. Seems to me if I was an assistant coach, Texas probably wouldn't be the place I would want to go. I'm quite sure Brown may be one of the most overrated coaches in America. Frankly I'd like to see him take the talent Iowa State or any other team with just average talent to a bowl.

I guess it just puts some perspective on things for me. Saturday was a bad day to be a Hawkeye and it was disappointing on many fronts because it felt as if we lost the game more than Wisconsin one it but lets still not forget what we do have.

He still coached him to a NT though. Got to give him that.

Mack Brown has long been considered a front man, a delegator. He doesn't do much real coaching. He had a great defense (coached by Chizik), and he had Vince Young. Anytime Texas got into trouble, it was: take us to the promised land, Vince. No adjustments necessary, just let the player of the decade (if not the best player of the last 20 years) will you to victory.

Not to hijack the thread...what the heck....

It could be worse....we could be Minnesota.

That's the kind of thread I thought it was going to be!

Mack Brown is a master motivator - maybe the best in the college game. That news story oozes with his motivation skill. There's a lot there between the lines.

i don't think you can doubt his recruiting skills, but classy isn't part of his vocabulary.