Fran's Radio Show is Pretty Good

ChosenChildren

I know I need to control my enthusiasm after only one big win, but I did tune in to Fran's radio show tonight with Dolphin. This was the first time I have done so.

The detailed analysis he gave was really interesting. He broke down Iowa State and talked about what Iowa did to combat what Iowa State does well. He also spent a lot of time analyzing why UNI is so tough. I'm no BB expert, but I found it extremely entertaining.

He also made a strong point about the fact that a coach cannot teach "poise". He was talking about Clemmons and his ability to make good decisions late in the game when everything was in doubt. He also went into great detail about playing time and the leadership he is getting from the older players on the team (McCabe, May and Basabe). The unselfish nature of those older players is creating great "chemistry" for this year's team. He also was very honest in pointing out that it isn't always that way; if the older players are selfish, the whole team becomes selfish.

I'm not going to summarize everything he said, but Fran's radio show is interesting because, at least at this point in his Iowa career, Fran is very forthright and detailed in his answers and really provides a ton of commentary and analysis.

Agree 100 percent. What I like about Fran (as we have all learned) is that he is not afraid to state it like it is. No vanilla responses about "we need to execute better" etc. It's refreshing to hear his show versus the football show.

Fran knows how to articulate the game of basketball extremely well. Better than just about any coach out there. He tells it like it is. He coaches through the media in some regards, too. I like that, to know what a coach is thinking makes the sport all the more interesting, IMO.